The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday announced the Men’s ODI Team Of The Year 2022. Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj were the only Indians to find their name in XI in which Pakistan’s Babar Azam was named captain.

Shreyas was the Men in Blue’s most consistent batter in the ODIs in 2022. He cemented his place in the star-studded line-up as a middle order batter who could both play the anchor and go for the big shots if the situation demands so. Iyer played as many as 17 innings during the previous calendar year and accumulated 724 runs at a strike rate of 91.53. He scored a hundred and six fifties in that year.

Siraj, the other Indian in the XI, was a much-improved bowler for Team India in the ODI format in 2022. With Jasprit Bumrah sidelined for much of the year due to injury and fitness concenrs, Siraj was the pace spearhead for the team. In 15 matches, Siraj has picked up 24 wickets at an average 23.50 and an impressive economy of 4.62. His best figures in 2022 was 3/29.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam was named as the opener in the team along with Australia’s Travis Head. West Indies Shai Hope was named in the number 3 slot while Iyer was slotted in his preferred number 4 position. New Zealand’s Tom Latham was the wicketkeeper of this team and was slotted at number 5 followed by Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza. Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz also found his name on the list. West Indies’s Alzarri Joseph along with Siraj and New Zealand’s Trent Boult were the pacers who were selected. Australia’s Adam Zampa was the only specialist spinner in the team.

news reels

Earlier, ICC had announced the Men’s T20I Team of 2022 on Monday.

ICC Men’s ODI Team Of 2022: Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *