The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday revealed the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the year 2022. India’s Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav were both named in the side while Jos Buttler who led England to a triumph in the T20 World Cup last year was chosen as its captain. Buttler also doubled up as the wicketkeeper of the side. All-rounder Hardik Pandya was the only other Indian who made the team.

While Virat was back to his best in the shortest format this year, scoring 276 runs in five games in Asia Cup 2022 before taking that form into the T20 World and playing one of the greatest T20I innings ever in the match against Pakistan. He also ended his century drought with the help of a hundred against Afghanistan which came in the Asia Cup fixture against Afghanistan.

Suryakumar Yadav, meanwhile, had a sensational 2022 in the game’s shortest format as he became only the second batter to score over 1000 runs in a calendar year. He was the year’s highest run-scorer in T20Is, scoring 1164 runs including 2 centuries and 9 fifties. The batter recorded a strike rate of 187.43 to merit a place in this side.

Hardik Pandya too had a great year which saw him score 607 runs while also picking up 20 wickets in T20Is. This was the all-rounder’s best year in Indian colours.

news reels

“The ICC Team of the Year recognises 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball or their all-round exploits in a calendar year,” the world cricket governing body said in an official release.

Sam Curran, the Player of the Match in the T20 World Cup 2022 final as well as the Player of the Tournament, was the only other Englishman apart from Buttler to have found his place in this team. For Pakistan, who reached the finals of the ICC event last year, it was Mohammad Rizwan who was listed as Buttler’s opening partner in the team. Apart from the opening batter, Haris Rauf also found his name in the XI.

Glenn Phillips was the only one from New Zealand to have found his name in the ICC’s shortlist of 11 players. Sikandar Raza from Zimabwe, Wanindu Hasaranga from Sri Lanka and Ireland’s Josh Little were also the lone representatives from their respective countries.

No one from 2021 champions and 2022 hosts Australia found their name on the list.

“The ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022 is here Is your favourite player in the XI? #ICCAwards,” ICC wrote in a social media post.

ICC Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2022: Jos Buttler (captain & wicketkeeper), Mohammad Rizwan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Phillips, Sikandar Raza, Hardik Pandya, Sam Curran, Wanindu Hasaranga, Haris Rauf, Josh Little

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *