Thiruvananthapuram: Even though the 3rd ODI between India and Sri Lanka might look like a dead rubber with the series already sealed in favour of India, it is World Cup year and no team would want to waste any opportunity of precious game time. The same is true for Sri Lanka too who might have conceded yet another series to India but would want to make the best use of this final chance to arrive at a settled combination for these conditions and try and get the desired results through optimum utilisation of the resources at their disposal.

With the Men in Blue having taken an unassailable lead already they can afford to make a few changes to their Playing XI, giving chances to those warming the benches so far. It would be interesting to see if Suryakumar Yadav will finally get a game. Sri Lanka too have a few questions to answer perhaps the most burning of them all is who to leave out if both Pathum Nissanka and Nuwanidu Fernando are available for selection.

Let’s find out what happens when the two former World Champions face off in the 3rd ODI at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (wk), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Arshdeep Singh

Sri Lanka Squad: Kusal Mendis (wk), Dasun Shanaka (c), Avishka Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Jeffrey Vandersay, Ashen Bandara, Pramod Madushan, Pathum Nissanka, Dilshan Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Post the conclusion of this series, India will host New Zealand for a white-ball series comprising of 3 ODIs followed by as many T20Is after which the much-awaited Border-Gavaskar Trophy will get unnderway in February.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *