New Zealand have announced a 15-member squad for the three-match T20I series against India which is slated to commence on January 27. Mitchell Santer has been given the responsibility to lead the team with both Kane Williamson and Tim Southee being handed a rest for these fixtures. The only two uncapped cricketers to get a place in the squad are Ben Lister and Henry Shipely.

It is pertinent to note that while the series opener is scheduled to be played in Ranchi, the second and the third T20Is will be played in Lucknow and Ahmedadbad on January 29 and February 1 respectivel. 

Ben Lister’s ability to swing the ball is exciting: Blackcaps’ Selector

“Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland early in his career in red and white ball cricket. Since his debut in late 2017, he is the Aces’ leading wicket taker in T20 and List A cricket,” Selector Gavin Larsen was quoted as saying in an official statement.

news reels

“His ability to swing the ball considerably as a left-armer is particularly exciting,” he added.

“We all felt for Ben after his tour ended the way it did last year, and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to return to domestic cricket so strongly this season,” he further said.

Santner’s experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable: Gavin Larsen 

Meanwhile, Larsen was also impressed by Santner’s T20 leadership in the past.

“Mitch is a leader in our white ball teams and has captained the T20 side in India before. His experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable leading this group,” he said.

New Zealand squad for India T20I series: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *