On Wednesday, Victoria’s talented spinner Todd Murphy has been included in Australia’s Test squad for the India tour. He will partner with a spin stalwart of Australia Nathan Lyon. Kangaroos will play four-match Test series in Nagpur, Delhi, Dharamsala, and Ahmedabad in February-March. Mitchell Starc after sustaining a finger tendon injury during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa has been ruled out of the first Test against India but still named in the squad.

Players like Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Swepson, and Aston Agar have been also added to the squad.

“After a successful home summer the squad is excited by the challenge a Test tour to the subcontinent provides,” said chairman of selectors George Bailey.

“We have selected a squad that provides the depth and flexibility required to adapt depending on the conditions we may encounter.”

news reels

Murphy came in place of wrist spinner Adam Zampa after performing well for Victoria and Australia A.

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly having impressed in domestic cricket and recently with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option,” said Bailey.

“Selection in this squad also provides another opportunity to spend time alongside Nathan Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori in India which will be invaluable to his development.”

Handscomb has played 16 Tests and has been in brilliant form in the domestic Sheffield Shield and as a result, he was recalled for the first time since 2019 in the squad.

“Peter Handscomb deserves his place back in the squad. His domestic form has been strong recently and Pete has proven he can perform at the Test level,” said Bailey.

“His experience against spin on the subcontinent is valuable and he is also an exceptionally good close to the wicket catcher.”

Australia Test squad for India tour: Pat Cummins (capt), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *