India vs Australia: Team India’s former head coach Ravi Shastri, star cricketers Ajinkya Rahane and Shardul Thakur were honoured during the annual Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) Awards on Friday in Mumbai’s BKC Club. The trio was part of the Indian squad that defeated Australia at The Gabba where the hosts were undefeated for 32 years.

ALSO READ | ‘Is He Fit Enough?’: Kapil Dev Gives His Verdict On Rohit Sharma ‘The Captain’

Emphatic last day heroics by the Indian team defeated Australia in the 4th and final Test match at The Gabba, Brisbane to retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy after clinching the Test series 2-1.

The Instagram page of MCA took to Instagram to share the picture of the trio receiving their award. “The Gabba conquerors,” said the caption of story posted by MCA.

Notably, the Indian team had as many as 10 players injured throughout the Border-Gavaskar series and even the regular skipper Virat Kohli left after the first Test match to witness the birth of his first child.

In the first Test in Adelaide, India suffered a humiliating defeat. The visitors were able to manage 36 runs in second innings as Australia crushed them to an 8-wicket win.

ALSO READ | Virat Kohli, Anushka Sharma Take Blessings Of Priest In Vrindavan, Video Goes Viral  

It was followed by a strong comeback at Melbourne Cricket Ground as stand-in skipper Ajnikya Rahane struck a valiant century in the first innings which resulted in India’s 8-wicket win.

In the fourth and final Test at Gabba, Ajinka Rahane-led India chased down the target of 328 runs to bag the series in dying moments of the match.

India Squad for Gabba Test 

Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, T Natarajan

Bench: Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Wriddhiman Saha, Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *