A deadly bowling show put up by debutant Shivam Mavi (4/22) and a late blitz by Deepak Hooda (41 runs of just 23 balls) and Axar Patel (20-ball 31) helped team India outplay Sri Lanka by 2 runs in the first T20I of the three-match series at the Wankhede Stadium, in Mumbai on Tuesday. By the virtue of this win, India now have 1-0 lead over the Lankan Lions.

Mavi was amazing with the ball and Sri Lankans were clueless while playing against him. “The landing zone was a little slippery. Was waiting for six years after playing U19. Had to work hard in those six years – got injured as well. For a while it looked like my dream will remain a dream. But I kept at it. Having played the IPL, the nervousness is a little less. My idea in the powerplay is to attack and get them out. Favorite dismissal was the first one, getting him bowled,” Shivam Mavi said after the match.

“Nerves were 3-4 on a scale of ten because you know what to expect when you have played the IPL. The first wicket was my favourite.”

Hooda came out to bat at number 6 after quick dismissals of skipper Hardik Pandya (29 off 27) and Ishan Kishan (37 off 29). Hooda changed the course of the innings with some quick runs and got good support from Axar as the duo helped India post a decent 162 for five in the first T20I on Tuesday.


India’s T20I squad against Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

Sri Lanka’s squad for India tour: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis (v-c for ODIs), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (only for T20Is), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga (v-c for T20Is), Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay (only for ODIs), Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwanidu Fernando (only for ODIs), Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara and Nuwan Thushara (only for T20I).

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *