India’s speedster Umran Malik returned to the side and started his season by showing his extraordinary finesse of pace bowling during the first of three T20Is against Sri Lanka.  He ended up taking two wickets in India’s two-run victory at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. During his spell, he bowled at a lethal pace of 155 kph and dismissed Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka. He also picked the wicket of Charith Asalanka as India restricted  Sri Lanka to 160.

Umran broke the record of Jasprit Bumrah for touching the highest speed among Indian speedsters. Bumrah’s highest speed to be was 153.36 kph. Shivam Mavi starred with the ball for the Men in Blue as he scalped four wickets and helped India win the game. Sri Lankan batters were clueless as to how to face Umran Malik and the debutant Shivam Mavi.

Earlier, after winning the toss, Sri Lanka opted to bowl first. Indian team struggled in the middle but then Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel built a crucial partnership of 68 runs and helped India post a total of 162 in their quota of 20 overs. Team India are 1-0 ahead in the three-match series and they will be playing against Sri Lanka in the second T20I in Pune on Thursday.


India’s T20I squad against Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

Sri Lanka’s squad for the India tour: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis (v-c for ODIs), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (only for T20Is), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga (v-c for T20Is), Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay (only for ODIs), Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwanidu Fernando (only for ODIs), Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara and Nuwan Thushara (only for T20I).


Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *