In the ongoing BBL season, Melbourne Stars was locking horns against the Renegades. Skipper Adam Zampa created havoc when he ran out Tom Rogers at the non-striker’s end and it was considered not out by the third umpire. The incident took place during the final over of the Renegades’ innings when Zampa dismissed Rogers as he was trying to leave the crease before Zampa bowled the delivery.

“Rogers survives the Mankad attempt but only because Zampa’s bowling arm was past vertical”, tweeted Cricket Australia.

Post the incident, the MCC took to Twitter and wrote,  “The non-striker can be run out if he/she is out of his/her ground up until the moment the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball. That means when the arm gets to its highest point.”

Further adding, “The bowler is *not* entitled to go all the way around in the bowling action and then run the non-striker out.”

Former Australia speedster Brett Lee also explained on Fox Sports and said, “If he goes past where he’s meant to let go of the ball there…..it’s deemed you can’t actually Mankad the batsman.”

“Listen, I don’t like that rule, I don’t like the Mankad rule whatsoever, I reckon they should take it out of their hands,” he added.

He further stated, “The best way to do it is to say to the batsman, if you leave your crease, you get docked five runs. Take it away from the bowler….I just don’t like seeing that in the game of cricket.”

Adam Zampa picked 1/18 in the four overs he bowled and Renegades ended at 141/7. Trent Boult starred with the ball for Stars as he scalped two wickets for just 23 runs.

 





Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *