After a string of poor performances by team India, the BCCI is now serious about the upcoming World Cup 2023. They conducted a review meeting and discussed various aspects. As per the News18 Cricketnext report, chances are that they will be going for a new coach.

The current head coach of the Indian team Rahul Dravid’s contract will end post the 2023 World Cup. According to News18 Cricketnext, the board will be looking at VVS Laxman, Head of Cricket at the NCA, as the replacement.

Laxman had traveled with the team for the 2022 edition of the Asia Cup when Dravid had COVID-19. Currently, Laxman is heading the National Cricket Academy and looking after talented youngsters.

Earlier, the Board took some major decisions during the Team India performance review meeting ahead of the ODI World Cup 2023. The apex board announced that the Yo-Yo test and DEXA (dual energy X-ray absorptiometry) are now mandatory for national team selection. 

As per a BCCI media release, Yo-Yo Test and DEXA (dual energy X-ray absorptiometry) will now be part of the selection criteria and will be implemented in the customized roadmap for the central pool of players. After achieving fitness, the players will now have to undergo a fitness test and a special type of X-ray checkup.

In another key decision, BCCI decided that the emerging players have to play enough domestic seasons to be eligible for selection in the national team. This means that if a player performs well in IPL, then he will have to play a lot of matches in domestic cricket as well.

The Indian cricket team is all set to start the new year with a bang as they take on Sri Lanka in a three-match T20 International series, starting from January 3. Hardik Pandya has been appointed as the captain of the team for IND vs SL T20 series.

India’s T20I squad against Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya (C), SuryakumarYadav , Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *