Senior Indian speedsters Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have not played international cricket for quite some time now. In the recently concluded Bangladesh series, Shami was led out citing a shoulder injury. Bumrah on the other hand sustained a back injury back in September and is still recuperating. India keeper batter Dinesh Karthik feels Bumrah’s rehabilitation will work in a sleek manner than of Shami’s.

“Shami and Bumrah are frontline fast bowlers. With Bumrah, yes the recent injury…but I am very confident about how his rehab will go. He is a thorough professional. He will come back all guns firing. Bumrah should play a few white ball matches before he comes into test match cricket, so that his body can take those workloads. For Shami, it’s a big question, because he is somebody who is probably not as professional as a Bumrah when it comes to training. He has had an injury and he’s been injury-struck for some time as well,” Dinesh Karthik said on Cricbuzz.

“And the whole Indian backups have been injured over a period of time for some strange reason. The Indian team and NCA need to align themselves towards how they are going to plan in making sure the players stay fit over a period of time because they have lot of cricket to play.”

Earlier, the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Indian squads for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka starting January 3. The T20I and ODI squad announced by BCCI will host the Lankan Lions for three T20Is and as many as ODIs, across six venues in India.

India’s T20I squad against Sri Lanka: Hardik Pandya (C), SuryakumarYadav, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s ODI squad against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.


Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *